Tuesday, August 21

Nine Planets in vedic astrology

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Nine Planets in Vedic astrology

In Hindu Astrology there are nine planets or Grahas. These include Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter, Sun, Moon, Saturn Rahu and Ketu, which are astronomical points formed where the moon’s orbit intersects the apparent path of the Sun around the earth.  Each planet is considered to be having masculine, feminine or neutral characteristics as well.

Grahas and their equivalents in Western Astrology

Indian Grahas Western Names Sex
Ravi Sun Masculine
Chandra Moon Feminine
Kuja Mars Masculine
Budha Mercury Neutral
Guru Jupiter Masculine
Sukra Venus Feminine
Sani Saturn Neutral
Rahu Dragon’s Head Feminine
Ketu Dragon’s Tail Neutral


Rahu and Ketu

The Moons apparent path intersects the ecliptic obliquely at two points called the nodes. The point where the Moon crosses the ecliptic from south to north is called the ascending node or Rahu, where it crosses the ecliptic from north to south is called descending node or Ketu. These two points are 180 degrees apart and their movement is constantly retrograde, meaning, against the normal direction of movement of planets. Rahu and Ketu are given special status and considered as planets in Indian astrology. But they are not included in Western Astrology. Rahu and Ketu take approximately eighteen years and ten days to complete one round of the zodiac.

Grahas’ Relationships

Each planet or Graha considers another planet as friend, enemy or equal. Some relationships are not mutual, for example, while one planet considers another as a friend, the second planet, in turn, may not see the first one as a friend. Mercury and Moon are examples.

Grahas (Planets) Friends Equals Enemies
Sun Moon, Mars, Jupiter Mercury Venus, Saturn, Rahu
Moon Sun, Mercury Mars, Jupiter, Venus, Saturn Rahu
Mars Sun, Moon, Jupiter Venus, Saturn Mercury, Rahu
Mercury Sun, Venus, Rahu Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Moon
Jupiter Sun, Moon, Mars Saturn, Rahu Mercury, Venus
Venus Mercury, Saturn, Rahu Jupiter, Mars Sun, Moon
Saturn Mercury, Venus, Rahu Jupiter Sun, Moon, Mars
Rahu Mercury, Venus,Saturn Jupiter Sun, Moon, Mars
Ketu Mercury, Venus, Saturn, Rahu Jupiter Sun,Moon, Mars


Do You Want Consulting?

Ask To Astrologer Right Now Live Chat


About Author

Astha or Adhyatm Faith Spirituality India Astha or Adhyatm™ Astha or Adhyatm is India’s Number one Spiritual Company, it is founded in March 2016 by Astrologer Gaurav Arya. We are providing many types of Services in all over the world. Astha or Adhyatm™ & Faith Spirituality™ is Registered Trade Mark of Astha or Adhyatm Faith Spirituality India. Astrological Consulting Services Super Natural System Paranormal Activity Cure From Black Magic Numerology Vedic Pujan Siddhi & Sadhna Tantra Sadhna (Legal) Horoscope Predictions Vastu Problems Spirit Related Problems Guru Pujan & Deeksha Protection From Negative Energy Er.Gaurav Arya Founder FAITH & SPIRITUALITY Astrologer & Researcher Indian Paranormal Expert, Astrologer & Researcher, Third Eye.

Leave A Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content is protected !!